Capacity Limit

Modified on Tue, 3 Mar at 1:07 AM

The Location Capacity Limit setting allows your organization to cap workspace reservations at a specific threshold. Simply enter the maximum percentage of workspaces that may be reserved at any given time and Reserve will enforce this by not allowing additional workspace reservations after the capacity limit has been reached. The limit is enforced for each floor and for the entire location (building). It does not apply to collaboration spaces. Reservations for users that have the right to “Override Workspace Reservation Limits” will be exempt from this rule.

When a user submits a reservation that exceeds the Location Capacity Limit, they'll see the message “This reservation exceeds the capacity allowed during the specified time.” If the reservation is recurring, the message will say "One or more days in this reservation exceed the capacity allowed during the specified time.“

 

Examples

At a location having 100 workspaces, if the Location Capacity Limit is set to 50%, then no individual floor can exceed booking 50% of their active workspace assets and the location as a whole cannot exceed booking 50% of its active workspaces. If that location has 2 floors, each having 50 workspaces (active assets), neither floor can have more than 25 workspaces reserved at a time and the total number of reserved workspaces cannot exceed 50.

A value of 30 for the Location Capacity Limit means that only 30% of the active workspaces can be reserved before a building/floor is considered full and will not accept additional workspace reservations for the specified time frame.

 

Scenario 1

Today is September 1 and the limit is set to 30%. An employee is making a workspace reservation for September 6 from 8am - 12pm. If 30% of the workspaces have already been reserved for September 6 from 8am - 12pm, then the employee will not be able to make a workspace reservation for that time. If less than 30% of the workspaces have been reserved for September 6 from 8am - 12pm, then the employee will be able to make a workspace reservation.

 

Scenario 2

Today is September 2 and administration has increased the limit to 80%. Now 80% of workspaces can be reserved before reaching capacity. An employee is making a workspace reservation for September 6 from 8am - 12pm. If 80% of the workspaces have already been reserved for September 6 from 8am - 12pm, then the employee will not be able to make a workspace reservation for that time. If less than 80% of the workspaces have been reserved for September 6 from 8am - 12pm, then the employee will be able to make a workspace reservation.

 

location_capacity_limit_screen_frame.png

 

Entering the Capacity Limit

  1. Contact your Project Manager or Tango Support, requesting that they enable the Location Capacity Limit rule in the Console. Once it has been enabled, it will be visible within Reserve's Settings screen.
  2. Go to the Settings screen and select Locations. Click on the desired location in the list. In the left sidebar, click on Policies. You must have the Manage Locations right to complete the next step.
  3. In the Location Capacity Limit field, enter the maximum percentage of workspaces that should be allowed to be reserved at any given time. This must be a whole number from 1 to 99. A value of 100 turns off the capacity restriction. Press the Save button.

 

Considerations

  • The Location Capacity Limit rule must be enabled before it will be visible in the Settings screen. It is set to 100% by default, which turns off the capacity restriction.
  • You must have the Manage Locations right to modify the value for the Location Capacity Limit.
  • The value entered must be a whole number from 1 to 100. Any value less than 100 will restrict capacity at the location level and the floor level by limiting the number of workspace reservations.
  • This is the maximum percentage of active workspaces in this location that may be reserved at a time.
  • The Location Capacity Limit can be changed at any time and the new limit is enforced immediately. The limit is not retroactive. When a reservation is created, the Location Capacity Limit setting at that time is enforced.
  • The Location Capacity Limit does not apply to collaboration spaces.
  • Workspaces not assigned to a floor will not be included in the calculation unless there are no floors at the location.
  • If a location has no floors, the limit will be applied to all active workspaces in the building.
  • Reservations for Users having the right to “Override Workspace Reservation Limits” will be exempt from this rule.
  • The Location Capacity Limit cannot be applied to specific groups of users.
  • When a reservation is created for a dynamic workspace and this reservation creates phantom reservations at other workspaces, then all of those reservations will be counted in the reservation total even though the phantom reservations do not indicate intended occupancy at those spaces. I.e., Someone reserves Desk A which is dynamically related to 4 other desks (5 are “grouped” dynamically), this creates 5 reservations and all of these will be added to the total count of workspace reservations.

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select at least one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article