Overview
Purpose of Private Checkbox
Example Privacy Settings
Reservations
Considerations for Use
Events
User Profiles
Overview
The privacy settings were released on March 14, 2025.
By default, the private checkbox is visible and unchecked in reservations and user profiles. Users having the right to "Manage Own User Profile" can check/uncheck the box on the "My Profile" page. There is no right that controls the ability to check/uncheck the private checkbox for reservations. Properties have been added to AQ Console to control whether or not the private checkbox is an option. These settings are at the account/organization level and apply to all locations within a given account. Organizations must submit a ticket for Tango staff to change any of the settings for these properties. Nothing will change in Reserve unless the properties are set to something other than "allowed."
Purpose of Private Checkbox
Reservations
When a regular user views a private reservation, the reservation name and owner are replaced with the word "Private" unless they are the owner or creator. Users who have the right to "Create Reservations for Another User & Manage Another User's Reservations" will always be able to see the reservation name and owner because no reservations appear private to them (all are displayed as public).
Profiles
- User with a public profile - when a search for users is performed in Reserve, is able to be found by any other user in Reserve.
- User with a private profile - when a search for users is performed in Reserve, is only able to be found by:
- Their delegates
- Users with the right to "Manage Users"
- Users with the right to "Create Users"
- Users with the right to "View Another User's Profile"
- When hovering over the floor plan or calendar grid, reservations which are not private but are owned by users with private profiles show up as "Private" to users who are not a delegate to the owner or don't have the right to "Create Reservations for Another User & Manage Another User's Reservations."
Example Privacy Settings
An organization wants all collaboration space reservations to be private, all workspace reservations to be public, and all other reservations to have the option to make private. They don't want any of their users to have private profiles. The organization would submit a ticket requesting the following settings for the privacy properties:
- Collaboration Spaces - Required
- Workspaces - Not Allowed
- All other categories - Allowed
- Profiles - Not Allowed
Reservations
Three properties control the private checkbox for reservations and they apply to specific asset categories.
- Collaboration Spaces (private.collaboration.reservation.setting)
- Workspaces (private.workspace.reservation.setting)
- All other categories (private.others.reservation.setting)
Within each of the above properties, there are four possible settings that dictate the display and behavior of the private checkbox when a reservation is created for an asset in that category. Child assets such as services and equipment do not affect the private checkbox.
- Allowed - Default setting. The private checkbox is visible and unchecked by default. A user can check the box to make the reservation private. When modifying the reservation, it can be made private or public, sometimes with the lock/unlock icon instead of the private checkbox.
- Not Allowed - The private checkbox is not visible. Reservations will be public.
- Required - The private checkbox is not visible. Reservations will be private.
- Allowed And True - The private checkbox is visible and checked by default. A user can uncheck the box to make the reservation public. When modifying the reservation, it can be made private or public, sometimes with the lock/unlock icon instead of the private checkbox.
Considerations for Use
- Kiosk/panel applications will still display the private checkbox regardless of the property settings.
- The above properties apply to the Web Application, Accessible Interface, Mobile Apps, and Exchange Add-in.
- If a user creates an appointment in Exchange (via Outlook/Room Finder, not the Add-in) and they set the appointment to be private in Outlook, yet the privacy property for that asset category in Reserve is "not allowed," then the reservation that gets created in Reserve will be public while the Outlook appointment will remain private.
- If a user creates an appointment in Exchange (via Outlook/Room Finder, not the Add-in) and they set the appointment to be public in Outlook, yet the privacy property for that asset category in Reserve is "required," then the reservation and the Outlook appointment both be public because of the data sync. The user should set the appointment in Outlook to be private.
- For all other scenarios, the Outlook appointment and the accompanying reservation will have the same private/public status.
Events
Events can be created and modified in the Web Application and the Exchange Add-in. Events may contain reservations for assets in multiple categories. Therefore, the system enforces the property settings for the categories of the selected assets by looking for presence of the strictest setting first, and moving toward the most flexible. If any is "Required" then the event is private. If any is "Not Allowed" then the event is public. If any is "Allowed And True" then the private checkbox is visible, enabled, and checked; so the user can uncheck the box to make the event public or leave it checked to keep the event private. If all are "Allowed" then the private checkbox is visible, enabled, and unchecked; so the user can check the box to make the event private or leave it unchecked to keep the event public.
User Profiles
The private.profile.setting property controls the private checkbox for user profiles. A user must have the right to "Manage Own User Profile" to be able to check/uncheck the private box on their profile page. A user must have the right to "Manage Users" or "Create Users" to be able to check/uncheck the private box for a user within Settings -> Users. A user with the only right to "View Another User's Profile" can see the checkbox but not modify it.
- Allowed - Default setting. The private checkbox is visible and unchecked by default. A user can check the box to make the profile private or check it again to make it public.
- Not Allowed - The private checkbox is not visible. Profiles for any users created after the property has the "Not Allowed" setting will be public.
- Allowed And True - When new users are created in the web application within Settings -> Users, their profiles are private by default. A user can go back into the created record and uncheck the box to make that profile public in the same way that they can with the "Allowed" setting.
Before you change the profile property, consider this: If users with private profiles already exist in Reserve and the profile property is changed to "Not Allowed" then there is no way in the UI to make those profiles public. Therefore, administrators should make sure that all profiles have the desired privacy setting before the profile property is changed to "Not Allowed."
In the Data Management Utility, the user data template has a column labeled "Private Profile." Download the user data to view the current setting for each user. A value of true in that column gives the user a private profile while a value of false makes the user's profile public. The private.profile.setting property does not change the value of the "Private Profile" column in the DMU.
Updated 2025-03-17
Was this article helpful?
That’s Great!
Thank you for your feedback
Sorry! We couldn't be helpful
Thank you for your feedback
Feedback sent
We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article