Managing Users with Space–Reserve Integration

Modified on Tue, 3 Mar at 12:51 AM

Managing Users in Reserve with the Space–Reserve Integration

When the Space - Reserve integration is enabled, you have two options for managing users in Reserve. The right choice depends on how much customization you need around user groups, roles, and data fields.

 

Option 1: Use Space - Reserve Integration

With this option, users are automatically managed through Space, keeping the process simple and streamlined.

How it works:

  • Users are created in Reserve through the HR integration.
  • Users are made inactive in Reserve when their person record is deactivated in Space.
  • All new users are added to the default user group: All Users.
  • The default user role is Registered User.

Best for:

  • Organizations that want Reserve users to mirror Space users without additional complexity.
  • Scenarios where custom user groups are not needed.
  • Cases where only a limited set of user fields are required.

 

Source- to-Target Mapping

 

Source Screen Source Field Target Screen Target Field Comments / Open Items
HR First Name My Profile: Details First Name  
Preferred Name Map from Nick Name to Preferred Name.
Middle Name Middle Initial Truncate first character
Last Name Last Name  
Email Email Address  
  Language  
  Private  
  Location  
  Department  
Job Description Title Map from Job Description to Title.
  Organization Code  
Employee Number Employee ID Map from Employee Number to Employee ID.
  Business Unit  
Status Status  
Direct Phone Work Phone Map from Direct Phone to Work Phone.
Extension Mobile Phone Map from Extension to Mobile Phone.
  Additional Email Address  
  Primary Workspace  

 

 

Option 2: Reserve Custom User Management Process (UMP)

This option provides more flexibility and control over user management by using a data-driven integration.

How it works:

  • Users are managed in Reserve via an ETL (Extract, Transform, Load) process using a client-provided data extract.
  • The Reserve API is used to create, update, inactivate, or archive users.
  • Default settings:
    • User group: All Users (can be customized).
    • User role: Registered User (can be customized).
  • Requires a server or client-hosted AWS environment to run the process.
  • Space people data sync to Reserve is disabled.
    • UMP is the user management source.
    • Client user extract as source of truth.

Best for:

  • Organizations that need custom user groups to apply different restrictions or permissions.
  • Cases where user rules need to be applied differently than the defaults.
  • When optional user fields (e.g., department, business unit, or org code) need to be populated for reporting purposes.

Shape

Choosing the Right Option

  • If your goal is simplicity and keeping Space and Reserve aligned with minimal setup, go with Option 1 (Space–Reserve Integration).
  • If you need flexibility, advanced user management, or analytics-ready data, choose Option 2 (Reserve UMP).

 

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select at least one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article