What is the Reservations page in Settings?

Modified on Tue, 3 Mar at 1:21 AM

Reservations          

The Reservations tab under Settings allows managers/administrators with the appropriate privileges to manage and monitor all reservations within the Reserve. (For managing Requests, see the Requests Workflow Guide)

Screen Shot 2025-05-15 at 10.40.43 AM.png

The Reservations Table

 By default, the Reservations Table shows all existing reservations for the next 15 days.

 

 mceclip0.png

To narrow down your search, use the “Where” (Locations), “What” (Asset Category), and Start Date/End Date fields.

To narrow down reservation searches further, it is easy to add and remove filters such as the Asset Name, Location (down to what floor it is located on), and by different Reservation Statuses.

mceclip2.png

Managing Reservations

Check In/Check Out

Administrative Users can check in and out for other users easily with this function under the reservation tab. Checking in can avoid a reservation being auto-bumped* (if you have Asset rules that apply) and checking out will free up the asset for other users to reserve.

 

 mceclip3.png

*Auto-bump is a setting that, if applied to an asset, will automatically remove/bump a user’s reservation from their upcoming reservations. This will either occur when, the user does not or has not been checked in to their reservation in the configurable amount of time allowed before an auto-bump or when the User, Location or Asset is made Inactive or deleted and there are existing reservations in place. An auto-Bump can also happen if the hours of operation are changed. This will allow for spaces that are not actually being used to be released back to Reserve for other users to reserve.

Cancel vs Bump

A Cancel by an administrative user will remove the reservation from the owners upcoming reservations (by changing the Reservation State to Cancelled) and free up the space to be used by others during the time of the cancelled reservation. On the other hand, a “bump" will act similarly if “Make the Asset(s) Available when Bumped” is selected in the business rules of a particular user. However, if it is not, then a bump will remove the reservation from the owner’s upcoming reservations, but it will NOT allow other users to make reservations during the time of the bumped reservation*.

*Bumps are most typically used in a reoccurring reservations/permanent desk assignment scenario, where you are requiring users to check in everyday so that your organization can take advantage of utilization reporting.

Instance vs Series

  • Canceling/Bumping an Instance will only cancel that single instance of the recurring reservation.
  • Cancelling/Bumping a Series will take the date into consideration. Canceling or Bumping a Series will only Cancel or Bump the series from the selected instance forward; the instances that occur prior to the selected instance will not be Canceled or Bumped

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select at least one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article